Saturday: Symposium

 Saturday, October 12, 2019
The Garland, N. Hollywood, California

“When a flower doesn’t bloom, you fix the environment in which it grows, not the flower.”
–– Alexander den Heijer

(Garland Theater)
8:30 a.m. – 9 a.m. Registration and Continental breakfast
9:00 a.m. – 9:15 a.m. Welcome!
Carl Sabatino, Ellen Rosen, Robin Schader, Susan Baum, Hank Nicols, Chris Wiebe
Celebrate Human Diversity video, Devon MacEachron
9:20 a.m. – 10:00 a.m.
Jack Horner: A non-traditional path to success

short break

10:10 a.m. – 11:20 a.m. Panel of “2e Hall of Fame” Honorees
(moderator: Jann Lepppien)
Susan Assouline
Evolution of 2e Research
J. Mark Bade & Linda Neumann
From Parent to 2e Publisher: Becoming an Advocate for 2e
Sally M. Reis
Broadening the Gifted Journey to 2e
Jim Webb (posthumously) [Janet Gore will accept]
SENG and 2e

11:20 a.m. – noon
David Shore: Creating characters whose development and growth may be different.

(Ballroom South)
12:00 – 1:15 p.m.
Round-table lunch tables with Honorees & Presenters

(Garland Theater)
1:20 p.m. – 1:45 p.m.
Susan Baum: Environments for Success: Revisiting Maslow

Introduction of afternoon group activity.

Task: What are the essential components of a 2e friendly environment?
Consider environments that give options for doing one’s best in these four areas:
Physical, and

1:50 p.m. – 3:15 p.m. Breakout: Workgroups on Environments [Move to assigned breakout room]
HOME goes to Cabrillo South
SCHOOL goes to El Camino
WORKPLACE goes to Cabrillo North

(Change Environment Rooms)

3:15 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. Fast-paced move for reviewing findings:
HOME Group moves to Cabrillo North
SCHOOL Group moves to Cabrillo South
WORKPLACE moves to El Camino

(Change Environment Rooms)

3:30 p.m. – 3:45 p.m. Fast-paced move for reviewing findings:
HOME Group moves to El Camino
SCHOOL Group moves to Cabrillo North
WORKPLACE moves to Cabrillo South

(Return to Garland Theater)
3:45 p.m.  – 4:30 p.m. Panel of 2e Gen X, Gen Y, and Gen Z in the workplace
Max Goldberg, (’03), Amy Faigin (’08), Cameron Aaron (’17) 
(moderator: Ellen Rosen)

4:30 p.m. – 4:45 p.m. Reporting Wrap-up and Call to Action
Chris Wiebe and Susan Baum

4:45 p.m. – 6:30 p.m. Celebratory reception begins!